The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

30 Sep

It’s here – it’s really here!  Wait, what?  No, no, not Christmas – AUTUMN.  The cool weather has finally arrived!!  After months of sweaty discomfort, it’s time to dust off the jeans and jackets and enjoy the fall weather, plus all the activities that come with it.

Like many people, I despise Texas summers.  Once June hits, I sequester myself into a self-imposed summer hibernation.  I avoid the sun like the plague (though somehow I always manage to end up with tan lines!).

But when the air finally cools off, I feel like I come alive after months of missing out on life.  Everything suddenly feels bright and new.  I feel energized!  I want to have another baby, write a book, run a race!  Everything just seems so…possible.

As I sit here, it’s only 70 degrees outside, and very windy.  (Just saying that brings a tear to my eye!)  We’ve got all the windows in our house open, I’m wearing pants and a sweatshirt, and I actually played outside for over an hour with my kids this morning.  For me, it’s hard to imagine anything better.

And there are suddenly so many things to do – festivals, races, hayrides, petting farms, pumpkin patches, and of course, the best of all – HALLOWEEN!

Halloween is absolutely my favorite holiday, maybe because my mood in October is just so darn good.  My house is decorated to the hilt, and I run a Halloween food drive in which my family trick-or-treats around our neighborhood to collect canned goods.  It’s a lot of work, but very rewarding!

So get ready – I will be sharing LOTS of fall and Halloween-related activities with you!  After all, it IS the most wonderful time of the year!!  Or something like that.

Leave a Reply

