Finding Passion

22 Sep

Being a mother, it’s difficult to find time to do things I’m passionate about.  Oftentimes, I am busy taking care of my kids, meeting their basic needs, working, being a wife, and the myriad of other responsibilities I have in a day.  Some days I wake up and wonder how I will ever accomplish even the mundane daily tasks I am responsible for in a 12 hour period.

From a very young age, I have been passionate about a few things, including ending child abuse and really anything having to do with children, like breastfeeding!  I can’t even say how I developed this passion, but I know it comes from my heart and I feel strongly about it.

Everyone should have a passion for something; some thing that drives your inner soul to make a difference in this world.  There are SO many volunteer opportunities out there.  Some involve lots of time and energy and others are simpler and take only a moment of your time.  Throughout my lifetime, I have held several volunteer positions.  Off the top of my head, these are the ones I can remember: I have hung clothes at a thrift store, I have cleaned out dirty cages at pet shelters, I have conducted group therapy for underprivileged elementary school children as well as chemically dependent adults, I have fed the homeless, helped out in my daughter’s classroom, and I have helped mothers breastfeed and parent their babies/toddlers.

If I can do it anyone can!  A community is made up of the people around you.  You really can make a difference in your community, by taking small steps, and making little changes.  Little changes bring about bigger changes, and before you know it, you’ve started a chain of “paying it forward” and you may not even realize it!  I would like to encourage everyone out there to find your passion, follow your heart, and give back to your community!  If you have a “volunteer” story you’d like to share, I’d love to hear any and all comments!  Tell me how you’ve made a difference in your community!

2 Responses to “Finding Passion”

  1. Lisa Martin September 23, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    So true, Lori! For me, the passion is reading. On tough days with the kids, I literally watch the clock until 9 p.m. when I tuck them in–and tuck myself into bed with a novel! Reading feeds my soul in a way nothing else does or perhaps can. Ending the day with a good book is one luxury I try never to skimp on!

  2. Jen September 24, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Lori, you make such a good point – it can be so challenging as a mom to find time to do everything (or even half of everything!), but giving back to your community is so important. Even one person can make a difference. I truly believe that.

    I hold an annual Halloween Food Drive in my neighborhood. It is a TON of work, but so worth it. I look forward to it each year, and I’m constantly thinking of ways I can make it bigger and better. And I’m so proud that now all my neighbors get excited about it too!

    I’ve also volunteered for animal rescue organizations, an AIDS outreach organization, and a women’s shelter. I hope to pass along this spirit of volunteerism to my children.

    And Lisa, you make another great point. Your passion should be something that really nourishes your soul and gets you re-charged for what lies ahead!

Leave a Reply

