Love Your Library!

20 Sep

I admit it, I’m a library nerd!  I’m at my local library once or twice a week.  At any given time, my household has about 30 items checked out.  We get books, CD, DVDs, audio books, and these really nifty things called “Read It Again” kits.  They’re these huge plastic crates full of books and other items (puzzles, puppets, felt boards, etc.) related to a particular topic, like wild animals or outer space.  My kids get SO excited when we pick up a new kit!

But my all-time favorite thing to do at the library is story time.  I’ve been going since my oldest child was only a few months old, when trying to get him to sit still and listen to someone reading a book was an exercise in futility.  But my library offered a story time specifically geared towards babies, so we sang songs, danced, and did some finger plays – in addition to reading some books.  We developed a great routine, and he came to truly appreciate books and the library itself.  That little baby is now almost 5, and he still loves going to story time!

Going to story time is a great way to meet people, too.  Over the years, we’ve bonded with other moms and their kids, and we’ve come to know and love several librarians.  I’ve found my library to be an absolutely invaluable resource for me and my children, one that has enriched our lives in so many ways.

And the best part?  It’s all FREE!

Many libraries also host book club meetings, so you could get some grown-up library time for yourself.  Some branches offer adult crafts and other workshops, too.

I encourage you to check our your local library’s website, and see what they have to offer you and your family!

One Response to “Love Your Library!”

  1. charityslamb September 21, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    It’s true…the library is a great FREE place to go and there is plenty to do. I am also quite a frequent flier at my library.

Leave a Reply

